If you have a new document (you have never saved it), you can hit the save button. A document is identified by the patient's first and last name. So you need to provide those informations in order to save your document.
Actually, as soon as you provide a patient's first and last name, the file is saved when you quit, load an other file or start an new empty document. (So it is not really necessary to hit the save button).